Be a Lady! Wear a Mans Shirt. ( D-I-Y for your E-Y-E)

“I buy expensive suits. They just look cheap on me.” Warren Buffet

A Note From Rags Revisited:

I’ve always been a fan of mens wear.  I find the recent development of mens tailored boutiques, and brands exhilarating. In my opinion a woman exudes sexiness when she can effortlessly wardrobe an oversized men’s button down.  I am not ashamed to admit I love a mans business blouse. Can I call it that?  During one of my quest to find the perfect collar button down I stumbled upon two tuxedo shirts. A girl can never have too many white shirts, especially a girl like me. I couldn’t resist reworking one of the shirts into a sleeveless top for the summer, and the rest is his- story.

The steps:

  1. Remove the  sleeves with a seam ripper, be careful not to rip into the shirt.
  2. Fold over the arm hole on each sleeve about 1/4 of an inch( or desired length) and pin around edge.
  3. Sew the fold  flat of 1/4 of an inch on each sleeve removing pins as you go. This will give your arm hole a neat finish so you don’t have frayed edges along your shirt.
  4. Mark the lower half of your button down to a desired length. ***Note: I chose to make the shirt hang just a little below my belly button.
  5. Leave about 1 3/4″ – 2 inches of extra fabric below the marking.  This is where you will cut the excess fabric off.
  6. Fold and pin the bottom of the shirt making a 3/4 of an inch seam around the shirt. Proceed to sew the fold flat.
  7. Take the seam you just stitched and fold it about 1 inch around the shirt. Sew the seam again.

***Note: This will give the lower part of a your shirt a crisp and professional finish.

 

 

menstuxedo

tuxedo 2

 

tuxedo3

tuxedo4

tuxedo5

tuxedo7

tuxedo6

Sonia looking up

Sonia close

Sonia Breezy

Details: Jennifer Fisher Jewelry, Reworked Tuxedo Shirt, GO International For Target, Guess Shoes.

Pictures were taken by the lovely Shanta Covington.  Check out more of her work here.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

Leave a Reply

