Pleat Show.

“A woman’s dress should be like a barbed-wire fence: serving its purpose without obstructing the view.”
Sophia Loren

A Note From Rags Revisited:

I have a  secret. Sometimes I have and idea in my head, and when I attempt to create it… I fail miserably. One of the many things I have learned interning for a designer is that  throughout the creative process  there will be many pieces that just won’t make the cut. Literally. The truth is sometimes the initial thought (the thought being the sketch) doesn’t translate well when being produced. I’ve thrown away countless pairs of skirts and blouses because  I couldn’t seem to execute  a reworked piece. Sometimes its the fabric, the way it falls and moves doesn’t match with the vision.  Other times I make an unforgiving mistake, and the piece is ruined. So, now that I’ve unloaded my dirty laundry on you I feel obliged to brag about the mistakes that turned into successful reworked pieces. Sorry this post wont feature a play by-play about how to recreate this skirt. Although the initial inspiration came from an editorial in Vogue featuring Kendall Jenner. It wasn’t supposed to happen like this. I got so frustrated with this DIY that ripped the skirt out of anger. Low and behold once again I had turned my adversity into triumph. You’ve got to fake it until you make it.

Kendall Jenner for US Vogue (September 2015) by Inez & Vinoodh
Kendall Jenner for US Vogue (September 2015) by Inez & Vinoodh

SAstoria 10-17-15 (20 of 26)SAstoria 10-17-15 (25 of 26) SAstoria 10-17-15 (22 of 26)

SAstoria 10-17-15 (13 of 26)

SAstoria 10-17-15 (12 of 26) (1)

Details: Reworked Skirt, Mens Gap Top, Gianni Marra Boots, Camouflage Jacket.

All photos were taken by Brandon Rushie. More of his work can be seen here.

 

Leave a Reply

