When Life Gives You Denim… An easy DIY That Will Make Your Denim Stand Out From The Rest.

“Whoever said that money can’t buy happiness, simply didn’t know where to go shopping” – Bo Derek

A Note From Rags Revisited:

I have a habit of hoarding clothing. The truth is I struggle to throw out clothing that may only get a wear or two in my lifetime. Now mind you… I do not have a problem. My dysfunction is not to be confused with those who compulsively store objects of “value”  hiding every crevice of linoleum. I’m not quite there yet. I mean… my closet is there but (and that’s a big but) you can still see the floor. So I’m still ok. Of course, after I (regrettably) threw away all my worn denim paraphernalia including two pairs of wide leg jeans, and a vest … guess what? All that shit it trendy again. Yes, even that denim skirt I wore in my Abercrombie & Fitch days when I was running through the six with my woes (minus the flip-flops and the moose). I’ve smartened up and so has my take on denim. This means plenty of opportunity for denim projects and even more time to become a certified hoarder. So, I did what any hoarder (I meant fashionista) would do and self medicated myself with a vest I didn’t need. I hopped over to the Gap, and may I suggest this is the perfect retailer to get this kind of staple for DIY’s! Then I bought some patches that peaked my interest from the black market, also referred to as Ebay. There are really no steps required in this project. This DIY is beyond simple. You can really take any item of clothing and make it personal with just a patch.  I chose to  make some rips to give it a worn effect. My denim has never looked cooler!

veset3

Vest1

vest2

 

 

Details: Reworked Vest, Levi’s, H&M Basics, The Office Sandals ( Reworked with paint)

All the pictures were taken by a lovely young lady Kadijah Nichole. Check out more of her work here.

Leave a comment